

## PRESS RELEASE

DATE: 2 December 2011

NO: 22

CONTACT: Johan Gernandt, Chairman of the General Council, tel. +46 70 714 31 78

Sven-Erik Österberg, Vice Chairman of the General Council, tel. +46 73574 72 83 Fax +46 8 21 05 31

Press Office, tel. +46 (0)8-7870200

SVERIGES RIKSBANK SE-103 37 Stockholm (Brunkebergstorg 11)

Tel +46 8 787 00 00 3 Fax +46 8 21 05 31 registratorn@riksbank.se www.riksbank.se

## New Deputy Governors at the Riksbank – Kerstin af Jochnick and Per Jansson

The General Council of the Riksbank has today decided to appoint Kerstin af Jochnick and Per Jansson as new members of the Executive Board of the Riksbank. They will succeed Svante Öberg and Lars Nyberg, whose terms of office expire on 31 December 2011. The General Council also decided to appoint Kerstin af Jochnick as First Deputy Governor of the Riksbank.

"We are very pleased to be able to present another two such highly qualified people as members of the Executive Board. Kerstin af Jochnick has extensive knowledge and long experience in the field of financial stability following her many years of work at the Swedish Bankers' Association, Finansinspektionen (the Financial Supervisory Authority) and the Riksbank. Per Jansson has sound knowledge in the field of monetary policy and long experience of economic policy following his years at the Riksbank, the Ministry of Finance and the National Institute of Economic Research. The decision of the General Council was unanimous. Both have long experience in the financial and macroeconomic fields and are therefore well-qualified to take a seat on the Executive Board of the Riksbank," say the Chairman of the General Council, Johan Gernandt, and the Vice Chairman, Sven-Erik Österberg, in a joint statement.

The two new members will take up their positions on 1 January 2012. Kerstin af Jochnick has been appointed for a term of office of six years and Per Jansson for five years.

Kerstin af Jochnick is currently the Managing Director of the Swedish Bankers' Association. Per Jansson is now Head of the Monetary Policy Department at the Riksbank.

The Executive Board of the Riksbank consists of six members, who are appointed for a term of office of five or six years. The other members are Governor Stefan Ingves and Deputy Governors Karolina Ekholm, Lars E.O. Svensson and Barbro Wickman-Parak.

A press conference with the Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and the Vice Chairman Sven-Erik Österberg, together with Kerstin af Jochnick and Per Jansson, will be held today at 3 p.m. at the Riksbank. NB! Entry via the bank's entrance at Malmskillnadsgatan 7. Press cards must be shown.

The press conference will be broadcast live on the Riksbank's website, www.riksbank.se.