2011 ESCB Day-Ahead Conference on Financial Markets Research Stockholm, 17 August 2011

Call for Papers

On August 17, 2011, the European System of Central Banks will organize a Day-Ahead Conference on Financial Markets Research for ESCB research economists, hosted and sponsored by Sveriges Riksbank. There is an ambition, although not final, to have this one-day conference take place every year ahead of either the annual EFA or the EEA-ESEM meetings.

The main objective of the conference is to create an opportunity for central bank research economists to interact and have a conference outlet for high-quality research that is oriented towards banking, finance and macro-finance topics with a high degree of policy relevance. We also hope that the day-ahead will stimulate research economists at central banks to attend the EFA, EEA and ESEM annual meetings.

Keynote speaker at the conference will be Lars E.O. Svensson, deputy governor of the Riksbank and professor at Stockholm University.

We encourage the submission of high-quality research papers in the following research areas:

- Banking, both theoretical and empirical
- Financial econometrics
- Financial market regulation
- Macro-finance
- Systemic risk analysis and macroprudential policies
- The interaction between monetary policy and financial stability policy
- The causes, effects and implications of the financial crisis

The above list of topics in not exhaustive and papers in other areas relevant to central bank policies can also be submitted and will be taken into consideration depending on the number and quality of submissions in the above mentioned fields.

Papers can be submitted by sending a paper or extended abstract to <u>dayahead2011@riksbank.se</u> by <u>March 15</u>. Please note that the deadline for the EFA is February 15. Decisions will be communicated by April 15.

We hope to see you in Stockholm in August!

Paolo Angelini, Banca d'Italia Wilko Bolt, De Nederlandsche Bank Lena Löfgren, Sveriges Riksbank, local organization (<u>lena.lofgren@riksbank.se</u>) Javier Mencia, Banco de España José-Luis Peydro, European Central Bank Kasper Roszbach, Sveriges Riksbank