

SVERIGES RIKSBANK SE-103 37 Stockholm (Brunkebergstorg 11)

Tel +46 8 787 00 00 Fax +46 8 21 05 31 registratorn@riksbank.se www.riksbank.se

PRESS RELEASE

7

DATE 30 January 2009

NO.

CONTACT Johan Gernandt, Chairman of the General Council, tel. +46 734 15 26 01 Leif Pagrotsky, Vice Chairman of the General Council, +46 703 00 18 24 Press office, tel. +46 8 7870200

New Deputy Governor - Karolina Ekholm

The General Council of the Riksbank decided today to appoint Karolina Ekholm as new Deputy Governor. Ms Ekholm will succeed Irma Rosenberg, whose term of office expired on 31 December 2008. The General Council also decided to appoint Svante Öberg First Deputy Governor of the Riksbank. Ms Ekholm will take up her post on 15 March.

"We are very pleased to be able to present yet another highly qualified person as a member of the Riksbank's Executive Board," say Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and Vice Chairman Leif Pagrotsky in a joint comment.

"Karolina Ekholm is currently associate professor at Stockholm University and has a long list of academic qualifications. She is a member of the Government's Fiscal Policy Council and was previously a member of the Swedish Economic Council. She has perhaps become most well-known to the Swedish general public as "globalisation expert" with a number of research reports on the economic effects of globalisation. The General Council is unanimous in this appointment," say Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and Vice Chairman Leif Pagrotsky.

Karolina Ekholm will take up her post on 15 March and will thus take part in the first monetary policy meeting after that date. Her term of office is six years. Svante Öberg will take up the post of First Deputy Governor on 2 February.

The Executive Board of the Riksbank consists of six members, who are appointed for a period of office of five or six years. The other members are Governor Stefan Ingves and Deputy Governors Lars Nyberg, Svante Öberg, Lars E.O. Svensson and Barbro Wickman-Parak.

A press conference with the Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt, the Vice Chairman Leif Pagrotsky, and Karolina Ekholm will be held today at 2.30 p.m. at the Riksbank, Brunkebergstorg 11. Press cards must be shown.

The press conference will be broadcast live on the Riksbank's website, www.riksbank.se.