

PRESS RELEASE

DATE: 22 May 2013

NO: 11

CONTACT: Johan Gernandt, Chairman of the General Council, tel. +46-(0)707143178,

Sven-Erik Österberg, Vice Chairman, +46-(0)768364684,

Riksbank press office, tel. +46-(0)8-7870200

SVERIGES RIKSBANK SE-103 37 Stockholm (Brunkebergstorg 11)

Tel +46 8 787 00 00 Fax +46 8 21 05 31 registratorn@riksbank.se www.riksbank.se

New deputy governors – Martin Flodén and Cecilia Skingsley

The General Council of the Riksbank has today decided to appoint Martin Flodén and Cecilia Skingsley as new members of the Executive Board of the Riksbank. They succeed Lars E.O. Svensson and Barbro Wickman-Parak, whose periods of office expired on 20 May.

"We are very pleased to be able to present another two such highly qualified people as members of the Executive Board. The General Council is unanimous in these two appointments," say Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and Vice Chairman Sven-Erik Österberg in a joint comment.

Martin Flodén is professor of economics at Stockholm University. His research has focussed on macroeconomic issues, including savings and consumption, public debt and monetary policy. Mr Flodén has previously been a member of the Economic Council of Sweden, the Swedish Fiscal Policy Council and the Swedish Centre for Business and Policy Studies' Economic Policy Group and has long been active in the academic public debate on economic policy issues.

Cecilia Skingsley is currently chief economist at Swedbank and has long monitored and analysed monetary policy and the work of the Riksbank, both as macroeconomic analyst and journalist. She also has good experience of financial crisis management, for instance as head of analysis at Swedbank during the international bank crisis 2007-2009. Ms Skingsley has a BSc in economics and has a financial analyst diploma.

"Mr Flodén and Ms Skingsley both have long experience in the financial and macroeconomic fields and their backgrounds complement the other members of the Board well," say Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt and Vice Chairman Sven-Erik Österberg.

Martin Flodén and Cecilia Skingsley have been appointed for terms of office of 5 and 6 years respectively.

They will take up their appointments immediately and will thus be able to take part in the monetary policy meeting on 2 July. Prior to their appointment, the members were questioned by the General Council and have also been assessed by an independent recruitment agency.



The Executive Board of the Riksbank consists of six members, who are appointed for a term of office of five or six years. The other members are Governor Stefan Ingves, First Deputy Governor Kerstin af Jochnick and Deputy Governors Karolina Ekholm and Per Jansson.

A press conference with the Chairman of the General Council Johan Gernandt, Vice Chairman Sven-Erik Österberg, Martin Flodén and Cecilia Skingsley will be held today at 1 p.m. at the Riksbank, Brunkebergstorg 11. Press cards must be shown. The press conference will be broadcast live on the Riksbank's website, www.riksbank.se.